Thiruvarur – திருவாரூர் சோழப் பேரரசின் ஐந்து பாரம்பரிய தலைநகரங்களில் ஒன்றாகும். திருவாரூர் மாவட்டம் “ தென்னிந்தியாவின் தானியக் களஞ்சியம்” என்று அழைக்கப்படுகிறது. இப்பெயர் முதலில் ஒருங்கிணைந்த தஞ்சாவூர் ( thanjavur district ) மாவட்டத்திற்குக் காரணம். புகழ்பெற்ற காவிரி ஆற்றின் டெல்டா பகுதியில் அமைந்துள்ள இந்த மாவட்டம் நெல் வயல்கள், உயரமான தென்னந்தோப்புகள் மற்றும் பிற பசுமையான தாவரங்களால் நிறைந்துள்ளது. “ தாய் காவேரி” என்று அழைக்கப்படும் காவிரி நதி, இந்த நிலத்தை வளமானதாக்குகிறது.வரலாற்று ரீதியாக, திருவாரூர் மதம், கலை மற்றும் அறிவியல் ஆகியவற்றில் சிறந்தவர்களின் மையமாக இருந்து வருகிறது. திருவீழிமிழலை, திருப்பாம்பரம், திருமெய்ச்சூர், ஸ்ரீவாஞ்சியம், தில்லைவிளாகம், திருக்கண்ணமங்கை ஆகிய இடங்களில் புகழ்பெற்ற வரலாற்றுக் கோயில்கள் உள்ளன

thiruvarur_ther thiruvarur_ther

Thiruvarur, also spelled as Tiruvarur, is a town steeped in a rich heritage, nestled in the heart of Tamil Nadu, India. Let’s embark on a journey to discover the essence of this ancient town, where history, spirituality, and culture converge.

Thyagaraja Temple:

A Marvel of Dravidian Architecture At the heart of Thiruvarur stands the Thyagaraja Temple, a magnificent Shiva temple. Here are some fascinating details about this sacred abode: Deities: Shiva is worshipped as Thyagarajaswami, also known as Putridankondar, while his consort Parvati takes the form of Goddess Neelotpalambika. Shakti Peetha: The temple houses a separate shrine dedicated to Goddess Kamalambika, a significant center for Shaktism and Tantra.
Covering an impressive 8.1 hectares (20 acres), the temple boasts nine entrance towers (gopurams). The tallest among them is the eastern tower, soaring to 30 meters (98 feet). Spiritual Legacy: The presiding deity is mentioned in the 7th-century Shaiva canonical work, the Tevaram, composed by saint poets known as the Nayanars.

Paadal Petra Sthalam:

Classified as one of the Paadal Petra Sthalams, this temple holds immense spiritual significance. Thiruvarur’s historic name was Arur or Aroor, which is referenced in ancient texts like the Tevaram.Thiru: The prefix “Thiru” signifies holiness and is added to temple cities revered by the verses of Tevaram. Thus, Arur became Thiruvarur.                                           


Another name for Thiruvarur, it translates to the “holy place that is an abode of lotuses.” The Kamalalayam tank and the temple deity, Kamalambika, contribute to this name.                                                                                                                                                                                  

Birthplace of Carnatic Music Trinity: Thiruvarur gave birth to the Trinity of Carnatic music—Tyagaraja, Muthuswami Dikshitar, and Syama Sastri— who enriched classical music during the 18th century CE. Thiruvarur was one of the five traditional capitals of the Chola dynasty, with Emperor Kulothunga Chola I choosing it as his seat of power.

Festivals and Traditions: The temple hosts six daily rituals and twelve yearly festivals, including the grand Chariot festival celebrated in March. Beyond the Temple Walls Largest Processional Chariot in Asia: Thiruvarur boasts the largest temple chariot in Asia, a sight to behold during festivals.
Kamalalayam Tank: The serene Kamalalayam tank adds to the town’s charm.
Agriculture and Cauvery Delta: Thiruvarur thrives on agriculture in the fertile Cauvery Delta region.


Rare Pics Of Thiruvarur

thiruvarur collector name : T.CHARUSREE I.A.S.,
Thiruvarur Colloector Tmt. T.CHARUSREE I.A.S.,

Our Collector

  • Tmt. T.CHARUSREE I.A.S., District Collector and District Magistrate,Tiruvarur. 
  • (Assumed charge on 05.02.2023) a 2015-
    batch I.A.S officer, started her career as Assistant Collector in Tirunelveli District from August 2016 to June 2017.
  • She has also rendered service as Sub Collector in Tirukovilur division from October 2017 to July 2019. From April 2020 to June 2021, she worked as Joint Commissioner of Commercial Taxes (State
    Taxes), Large Tax Payers Unit, Chennai.
  • She worked as Commissioner of Thoothukudi City Municipal Corporation from June 2021 to January 2023.

Talukas in Thiruvarur / Thiruvarur Blocks

S.No. Talukas in Thiruvarur / Thiruvarur Blocks District
1 Thiruvarur Thiruvarur
2 Mannargudi Thiruvarur
3 Thiruthuraipoondi Thiruvarur
4 Kodavasal Thiruvarur
5 Needamangalam Thiruvarur
6 Nannilam Thiruvarur
7 Valangaiman Thiruvarur
8 Koradacherry Thiruvarur
9 kottur Thiruvarur
10 Muthupettai Thiruvarur

Leave a Comment